Stained Onesie- Clean Hankie- Hot Stuff!

Every mom has gone through their box of stored clothing and found a onesie with a diaper-leak stain on it. It’s otherwise good, but it’ll always look dirty, and it’s been washed, dried and stored in a box for two years or more so it’s not going to come out.

I really love this blue color, too. It’s a onesie from a pack of girls’ colors but whenever I put it on Olivia old men would call her “him.” So this is how I gave this plain-jane (john?) onesie a new life with a 100% cotton hankie that I got at the thrift store for $.20.

First I cut the onesie’s snapping crotch out at the length of a drop waist and measured its width at 8 inches. Then I folded the hankie in half corner to corner, and in half again. The folded center I cut out so that the hole measured 5 inches by 5 inches squared and lastly rounded the hole to a circle of a little more than 20 inches in circumference.

Then I pinned the hankie and onesie together, right sides together, the side seams of the onesie lined up with the corners of the hankie and evenly distributing pins while stretching the onesie as I go.

Then I looked down and realized that my one-year-old Elise has drooled washable crayon all over another the onesie she is wearing. I guess I need to come up with a way to tie-dye with crayon!

After I washed my baby and brushed her teeth (EW!) I sewed the onesie and hankie together, catching the edge of the hankie in a zigzag stitch, stretching the onesie to be even with the hole in the hankie.

Since these colors are so different I felt that I really needed to bring the red up, so I used the cut out fabric from the hankie and made a heart to appliqué on the chest, which I did by hand while Olivia played outside and Elise napped. I added some buttons and that’s that!

Look at this hot stuff!!!!

6 Responses to “Stained Onesie- Clean Hankie- Hot Stuff!”


  1. 1 Ellie September 6, 2007 at 1:33 pm

    Devona-
    I love it! It’s so cute and this is a fun blog. Now all you have to do is make cute boy things for Deacon. Just make it so that it fits Olivia. You have to practice because you’re going to have boys anyway.
    -Ellie

    oh, and great picture of Elise with the crayons. Her little face in that picture is so cute!

  2. 2 Mary September 7, 2007 at 1:02 pm

    I love the way Elise is drags around that bunch of artificial flowers! Her dress is adorable. 🙂 Looking forward to seeing more. . .

    Mary

  3. 3 Andy September 7, 2007 at 4:02 pm

    I’m a total dork for commenting on here. But I am quite impressed with your onesie recovery effort, and with the results, for that matter.

    I’m also pretty impressed by the craft blog with the lady who got the book deal. That’s such a slick blog, and everything on it looks so crisp and sharp. I find myself wanting to eat both the crepes AND the jumpers.

    Maybe that’s just because I forgot my wallet today and I’m getting awfully hungry.

    Cheers,
    Andy

  4. 4 devona September 7, 2007 at 8:03 pm

    Oh yeah, she’s a first class crafter. I am not anywhere near as talented as she is. But that’s why I’m doing what I’m doing.

    And, don’t you wish that college was like high school when it comes to lunch? “Are you gonna finish those fries?”

    Thanks for reading and commenting everyone. Very encouraging. 🙂

  5. 5 Devona's Mom September 8, 2007 at 10:48 am

    I really wish that I could take some credit for your artistic abilities, but I send shirts to the cleaners to have buttons sewn back on. But I am pretty handy with tools, so maybe it just comes out in a different way for you. Yeah, we’ll go with that reasoning, so I CAN take credit.:)

    In any case, that’s a really cute dress, on a really cute baby, not that I’m biased or anything..

  6. 6 devona September 8, 2007 at 5:49 pm

    I think it is a variant manifestation, mom, cause Britt can sew clothes, too. I think it’s because you had so many older brothers that they desire to sew just never blossomed until it wasn’t worth it to learn.

    But the fine motor skills, they definitely come from you.


Leave a Reply

Creating unique fashion from fortunate thrift store discoveries. And otherwise making our house a home, on the cheap.

RSS My Etsy

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

IMG_20110720_163332

option one

option two

More Photos

a


