This week’s craft goals

1: Make a Recycled-Men’s-Dress-Shirt Dress for my etsy store.

2: Make the “Vintage Apron” pattern from Bend-the-Rules Sewing using my fabric remnants and a cotton bandana that I’ve had for ages.

3: Find some cheap and beautiful sweaters at the thrift store so I can fiddle around with them… handbags? jumpers for the girls? hats? leggings?

3 Responses to “This week’s craft goals”


  1. 1 meggan September 12, 2007 at 5:49 am

    first of all, i love the little dress-would it be wrong to make one for either of my little boys? selah hasn’t worn a onesie in a very long time. i want to try to make some babylegs knock offs with thriftstore sweaters. i’m also strongly contemplating the kingpod bonnet pattern, i was just looking at it before i found your new blog.

  2. 2 devona September 12, 2007 at 11:58 am

    Babyleg knockoffs are much easier made from knee socks than sweaters. I’ve tried both. The sweater ones never stayed up and were really hard to sew without stretching them out really badly. The smaller knit of the a sock made them a lot more elastic and easier to sew up. I have some around that I’ve made I can take some pictures of them.

    I probably wouldn’t make a dress for one of my boys (if I had a boy) but there’s got to be some onesie salvage project for boys…

    And not I want to find the kingpod bonnet pattern, I haven’t heard of it before.

    Google, Google, here I come!

  3. 3 devona September 12, 2007 at 12:00 pm

    Ah, I found it. It’s really cute. I was thinking of making the girls some matching coats from some awesome fabric I found at the thrift store for $2.50, maybe I can make some of those to go with them.

    I could line the inside with matching flannel!


Leave a Reply

Creating unique fashion from fortunate thrift store discoveries. And otherwise making our house a home, on the cheap.

RSS My Etsy

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

IMG_20110720_163332

option one

option two

More Photos

a


