Week’s goals- take two

So, I have succeeded in completing 2 of my 3 week’s goals. The apron is sewn and well worn. I’ll have to wash the barbecue sauce off of it before I take a picture of it. Once I got up in the sewing room, though, I decided that I really didn’t like the blend of the fabric I had and the bandanna, so I used some bias-tape that I made from a woman’s shirt from the thrift store. Unfortunately, that bias-tape was set aside for the Men’s Dress Shirt-dress and now I’m not sure what I’m going to do with it instead.

The sweaters have been bought. One of them is way too cool to sew into anything else. It is so 80s and argyle. Lovely. It’s at least 80% wool from the feeling of it, though the tag is missing. But I love it and I am so glad it’s cooling off so that I can go back to wearing sweaters, which is one of life’s great pleasures.

I also found an OMG-that-is-such-a-bright-pink-sweater which also has some argyle on it. It’s 100% cotton and upon looking it over I think it is really wanting to be turned into a stuffed puppy with an argyle face and back and felt eyes.

And the solid gold find of the week: a 100% cotton bed spread from who knows when. It’s just a bed spread, not a quilt, not a comforter. So essentially it is a huge beautiful piece of fabric. It was $2.50. I am trying to find a pattern for a coat like this to make matching coats for the girls. If I can’t find a cheaper version I might just buy that one. This is going to officially be the biggest project of my life. A practice in both sewing skill and patience.

We’ll see how it goes.

2 Responses to “Week’s goals- take two”


  1. 1 Ellie September 13, 2007 at 1:48 pm

    have you checked Etsy for patterns? I’ve found great vintage patterns for pretty cheap – like 3 and 4 dollars.

  2. 2 devona September 14, 2007 at 2:11 am

    I looked on etsy. I didn’t find exactly what I was looking for. But that doesn’t mean I shouldn’t check again. There’s always new listings, just gotta keep checking back.

    I have a few weeks or so before the project needs to be started.


Leave a Reply

Creating unique fashion from fortunate thrift store discoveries. And otherwise making our house a home, on the cheap.

RSS My Etsy

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

a


