My new diaper bag

With the change of seasons falling upon us I was getting the womanly itch for a new bag. It’s just what needs to be done, especially since I have a million “need-to-do” sewing projects to do this week. The personal project had to come first otherwise I’ll get burned out before the fun comes.

It was all inspired by my Moms’ Day Out trip to Wooster on which we spent the afternoon in an awesome craft store called Sew Crazy, which unfortunately does not have a website. They had a knitting class to make a felted bag with a long strap and a short strap. The short strap closed the bag by looping over the larger strap. So functional!

This diaper bag was further enabled by my dear friend Megan who loves to give awesome gifts. She dropped off at my house a garbage bag full of random yardage from the thrift store near her house. That bag contained the 100% cotton floral print which I used to line my diaper bag. The outside of the bag is an old soft denim skirt that I loved for 5 years but was starting to get holes in it.

I have been loving and learning sewing tricks from the Bend-the-Rules Sewing book, and one of those tricks was how to make a lined bag. I have tried and failed to do this about 6,000 times previously. This time I finally got it right after studying how to make her simple clutch.

The final result? Something a little hobo, a little chic, and definitely not little. I can fit 3 sweaters, 5 diapers, some toys, and a few books in here. The more I carry the better the bag looks. I love it! I should be bag satisfied until spring, maybe longer!

0 Responses to “My new diaper bag”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Creating unique fashion from fortunate thrift store discoveries. And otherwise making our house a home, on the cheap.

RSS My Etsy

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

IMG_20110720_163332

option one

option two

More Photos

a


