Finally making something for etsy

Seriously, I have been in a rut when it comes to selling things. I think that I need to periodically make things for myself otherwise I get really burned out. But I came across this awesome 100% lamb’s wool sweater at my last thrifting experience and I had to felt it.

My girls aren’t the biggest hat wearers, and though I really love the colors in this I knew that I’d just get frustrated trying to get them to leave them on. In order to save myself the headache I thought I’d sell these little gems at my store and someone else can try desperately to get their daughter to wear them.

I made the “asymmetrical ear hat” first. I just ripped the seams on the sleeves and it was already the perfect width. How convenient! I happened across the buttons in my canning jar button collection pictured in my banner. Add some zigzag stitch and you have one warm cozy hat!

Elise woke up from her nap in time to model for me. Sleepy kids make great models.

I wish I had made the bucket hat large enough for myself! It is being shaped right now by my cake pan. I hand washed the sewn hat in warm water and put it over the cake pan to dry. That should keep the crown of the hat nice and round, so if you buy this hat and it gets squashed you can do the same. I need to get a hat stand to take pictures on. That little tykes shape sorter is a little tacky, huh?

I still have enough fabric left over to make one more hat for my girls if they request it, if not, I might just make another for my store.

5 Responses to “Finally making something for etsy”


  1. 2 devona October 28, 2007 at 2:09 am

    Thank you!

  2. 3 Ellie October 29, 2007 at 4:45 pm

    Yeah, these are super cute! Deacon has never kept a hat on his head either, but one day he saw Andy wearing a baseball cap and now he wants to wear them all the time. And if it falls off his head, he runs to me begging me to put it back on. He even insists on wearing hats to bed sometimes.

    So, he never wore any sun-hats over the summer, but now I’m hoping he’ll wear some cute fall hats this season.

  3. 4 Ellie October 29, 2007 at 4:46 pm

    Oh, and can I say that Elise looks so lovely and squeezable in that picture!

  4. 5 TulipGirl November 5, 2007 at 2:37 am

    Cute, cute! I want one. Of course, it’s never cold enough for wool hats here in Florida.


Leave a Reply

Creating unique fashion from fortunate thrift store discoveries. And otherwise making our house a home, on the cheap.

RSS My Etsy

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

IMG_20110720_163332

option one

option two

More Photos

a


