The morning routine

Almost every morning I make Pancakes for the family. I used to just make whole wheat flour pancakes with homemade syrup on top. Then I took a nutrition seminar by Dr. Bob Sears at the LLL conference. That was the end of that. He called that the equivalent of cake.

But Pancakes are a breakfast that my whole family will eat. Unlike oatmeal, which was what I tried to switch to.

Facing that dilemma I made this recipe. Oatmeal pancakes. I was already making pancakes from scratch each morning, this just adds two extra steps, so that’s not too bad.

Oatmeal Pancakes:

  • 1/2c unprepared old fashioned oatmeal
  • 1/2c whole wheat flour
  • 3/4c milk
  • one egg
  • 3t baking powder
  • 1/2t salt
  • 2T brown sugar
  • 2T canola oil

First put oatmeal in food processor and blend until floury. Combine wet ingredients and wisk in dry ingredients. Allow to set for a minute before pouring on a medium-low heat griddle.

Instead of syrup, opt for whipped cream. I make mine from heavy whipping cream, 2T white sugar and 1/4t maple extract. YUM!

Leave a Reply

Creating unique fashion from fortunate thrift store discoveries. And otherwise making our house a home, on the cheap.

RSS My Etsy

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

a


