My life was forever changed

My Mother-in-Law has done two things to change me forever. First, she birthed and raised Rob. That was pretty spectacular of her. But then she told me about this little tiny hole-in-the-wall, ancient, freight and fabric supply store that has been in business for 40 years. I went last Friday and I haven’t posted until now because I have been contemplating the amazing transformation that my life is about to undergo.

They have amazing vintage fabric, uncut on the bolts for a fraction of what I can get it for on e-bay. I left speechless. I bought 3 different fabrics and brought them home. Out of curiosity I Googled the prints, and though I couldn’t find my exact fabrics I found all of their designers listed on e-bay and other search engines. One was printed in 1978 and the other two are no later than 1982.

FUN!

So I made a throw pillow.

How do these other blogging craft Mommies take pictures of their homes without spending an hour just to clean the sippy cups and socks out of every nook and cranny of their home? I had to crop our nasty mini-blinds that came with the house out of the picture, too. There’s nothing “Martha” about those blinds.

Not to mention the photogenic, obtrusive dog.

I’m going to list this pillow on etsy and see what happens. I’m also going to buy some yardage in bulk and pass the fabulousness on to you. There will be a new section on my shop starting next week that is just for vintage fabrics, and I promise that you pay less than what I saw them going for on e-bay (cough $25/yard cough).

5 Responses to “My life was forever changed”


  1. 1 maniladrive January 23, 2008 at 2:43 am

    That orange/blue fabric would make a really great handbag!

    Good find, will you take me there when we come to visit in March?

  2. 2 devona January 23, 2008 at 3:06 am

    Yes! I will take you there. You will never be the same.

  3. 3 Andrea January 24, 2008 at 12:48 am

    I love the picture of Sherman! Your new camera is awesome – you’re getting some great shots!

  4. 4 Meredith from Merchant Ships February 12, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    I love finding a secret treasure trove like yours! In fact, I’m kind of surprised you’re spilling the beans before your local interview : )

    Great shots.

  5. 5 devona February 13, 2008 at 1:28 am

    You know, the same paper that interviewed me did a story about this shop a few months ago, that’s how I found them. So it’s not like I’m bringing everyone and their mother to visit with me when I go treasure hunting, but I feel like I can talk about it and be fair.

    This place is seriously huge. Even if 3 times as many people shopped there, there would be enough left for me and anyone who wanted to share with me. the one fabric I bought the woman told me she had at least 12 more bolts of it. Amazing, I’m telling you.


Leave a Reply

Creating unique fashion from fortunate thrift store discoveries. And otherwise making our house a home, on the cheap.

RSS My Etsy

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

a


