The Cobbler’s children

In all my recent excitement with filling my etsy store to the brim with goodies I have neglected my wonderful children and my evil plot to shape their fashion tastes with an overflow of Mom-made clothing. Olivia used to walk up to children at the library or park and say, “That’s a nice dress. Did your Mommy make it?” She hasn’t said that in a while. I wonder if it is because I’ve stopped making them new dresses on a weekly basis…

Well, today I finished a dress for Elise that has been cut out for two weeks. I found a super vintage corduroy remnant for fifty cents and it needed to become a jumper. It was going to be my standard button strapped a-line jumper, but I figured fifty cents is a good investment towards learning to make raglan sleeves.

Keep in mind I’m pattern-a-phobic. At best I’ve looked at the basic construction of a raglan sleeve from a sewing dictionary I got from the library and kept for a month.

I think I did alright. OK, that’s false modesty. I think this dress rocks! It’s really a 24 month size, so she’ll have to grow into it. But OH DEAR is it darling. The bias trim and pocket are a vintage cotton hanky I found for cheap-o a while back and was just waiting for the right project. I have not been disappointed.

0 Responses to “The Cobbler’s children”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Creating unique fashion from fortunate thrift store discoveries. And otherwise making our house a home, on the cheap.

RSS My Etsy

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

a


