Cupcakes of LOVE

Chocolate and pink. Can’t beat that.

A lot of people have been blogging these awesome recipes from hip new cookbooks. I want to be that cool, but you know what? I really just like baking from my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook that Rob’s mom (or was it my mom?) gave me. Easy-peasy. I always have everything it calls for on hand. And the recipes are so straightforward that it does not take a master chef to figure out what to substitute to make them more healthy. Like these cupcakes for instance. Half the oil could have been substituted with apple sauce, the sugar could have been reduced by a third. The frosting, well frosting is always bad for you… All of these substitutions would have turned out delicious, healthy, alternatives to the straightforward cupcake that I actually made. Oh, yes. These are a confectionery whirlwind of diabetes inducers. Not to mention red40.

But hey, it’s almost Valentine’s Day. And they’re MINI cupcakes, so they’re only mini bad.

1 Response to “Cupcakes of LOVE”


  1. 1 Ellie February 10, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    Love the photos! Yay for Rob getting you a great camera.

    I like my BH&G cookbook too. I know that I can find *whatever* i’m looking to make in there.


Leave a Reply

Creating unique fashion from fortunate thrift store discoveries. And otherwise making our house a home, on the cheap.

RSS My Etsy

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

IMG_20110720_163332

option one

option two

More Photos

a


