Milk!

We have this awesome brass-topped Moroccan coffee table. It was Rob’s Grandmother’s and she left it to Rob’s parents, who then in turn gave it to us. It was really tarnished, but we love it because it is so kid proof (except that it tips over when they try to climb on it. That’s good in itself since it teaches small people what happens when you climb on tables).

Today I was in one of those moods where you clean all the stuff you don’t normally clean. We were dumping baking soda on the carpet to get the smell out when I thought I’d put some on the table and see if it would make a reaction that would get rid of the tarnish. No dice.

Upon further inspection I noticed there were some amoeba shaped portions of the table that were really shiny. Hmmmmm, I thought. What could have caused that. That’s when I remembered that Olivia had told me yesterday that Elise was dumping her milk on the table and I had given Liv a towel to wipe it up. Could milk have been the cause of the shiny-ness?

So I poured a cup of milk on the table and it polished right up. Who’d have thought? So if you have some brass stuff that needs to be polished- milk. It works great.

0 Responses to “Milk!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Creating unique fashion from fortunate thrift store discoveries. And otherwise making our house a home, on the cheap.

RSS My Etsy

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

IMG_20110720_163332

option one

option two

More Photos

a


