Gardening at Night

Last night at 7 I decided I wanted to make sure that I got the vegetable bed prepared before this weekend’s rain. I am excited about planting broccoli and Lettuce for the first time and I guess I’m kind of banking on some global warming help in regards to the last spring frost.

My poor family. Our garden is always causing me to forget my sanity, and last night I was out well into the dark digging, mixing, laying weed cloth, and putting all the mixed dirt back where it came from. Rob had to turn the back yard light on for me.

Last year I lost Olivia in the garage while gardening. I have been late for many meetings and meals because of my garden. And the problem is I’m not even that good at gardening. That’s why I’m out there so early this year. I’m not going to scramble around at the last minute and spend the whole year digging the same dandelion out of my garden. This year will be different. I’m implementing some Square Foot Gardening techniques, and I’m getting all the weeds and roots out now. The soil is just beautiful and the broccoli and lettuces will be planted this weekend. They are frost hardy so I’m excited to get growing.

This is what happens, by the way, when you let your kids help you start seeds.

I have no idea what I’m going to do about this… Plant it and hope for the best?

And Olivia has been visiting with our very own Charlotte. Last night we were her dinner company.

2 Responses to “Gardening at Night”


  1. 1 Martha/All the Dirt on Gardening April 5, 2008 at 12:16 am

    Oh, you have caught the gardening bug, for sure. And, there is no known cure.
    All those baby plants to transplant into bigger pots and then into the garden.
    Have a wonderful time with it.
    Martha

  2. 2 devona April 5, 2008 at 2:28 am

    Thanks for stopping by Martha. I took a look at your blog. You’re a few weeks ahead of us into Spring so I’ll be playing catch up to you all year. I’ll be sure to keep up with what you have going on. It will keep me motivated.


Leave a Reply

Creating unique fashion from fortunate thrift store discoveries. And otherwise making our house a home, on the cheap.

RSS My Etsy

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

a


