Not far from that tree

We’ve been celebrating all things green for the past few weeks. It’s kept me out in the sun and away from the computer for the most part. The garden is coming along. The garden beds are manageable, the grass I planted is coming up. The vintage sink that I put in the front yard as a planter for pansies is being complimented by neighbors (even though Rob said it looks “white trash.” A photo will come shortly) and we’ve been otherwise fully engrossed in our little patch of earth. Check out the photo below to see Olivia’s farmer’s tan.

Last night I experienced some true mom-pride swell up in me when Olivia asked me how to sew a sweater because she wanted to make one for herself. I told her that you needed to knit a sweater, but if she wanted to sew a T-shirt I could help her out. I put one of her hand-me-down T-shirts that she usually wears from pajamas on an embroidery hoop and threaded a needle with pink embroidery floss.

Liv diligently sewed until her thread was all used up, and then asked for a second piece. She diligently sewed until that second piece was used up, too. She never asked for help, she knew just what she wanted to accomplish so I let her work.

When she was all finished she wanted to put it on and show it off. Just like Mom. I hope she always wants to work along side me and make her own clothes. I am so proud!

0 Responses to “Not far from that tree”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Creating unique fashion from fortunate thrift store discoveries. And otherwise making our house a home, on the cheap.

RSS My Etsy

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

IMG_20110720_163332

option one

option two

More Photos

a


