Spaghetti Faces and Real Simple

I was paid in fabric to make a mei tai carrier for a girl from our LLL group. It is some Chocolate Lollipop in blueish and greenish. And my Dad and Step-Mom gave us some new office furniture, which I plan to use the formerly mentioned fabric to make a bolster pillow for. This inspired me to upgrade some of my art for the room.

This is already the funkiest room of the house. The woman who lived here before us wall papered the walls with torn brown paper bags. It is gorgeous and recycled! The rich brown walls are accented with painted white woodwork and the room just begs for these punches of color. Until now it has been the least attended-to decorating wise.

The spaghetti-faced girls helped me to make this collage artwork. We tore out color swatches from an old issue of Real Simple Magazine (the magazine to which I subscribe so that I can feed my eyes candy and stare at cool colors) and Modge Podged them to a piece of particle board I salvaged from some packing material.

You can see the upholstery on the chair that my Dad gave us in the picture of the girls. We always called it “the ugly chair” which matched the “ugly couches.” I am going to re-upholster it soon and then I’ll take some cool before and after pictures. I hope to use all second hand fabrics to re-do it. But It will depend on what I can find that matches the Chocolate Lollipop.

There are some pink glass panes in the garage that I’d like to put up above the desk as wall mounted shelves. If I can figure that out I’ll take some pictures of that too. If I can’t figure it out and there is a huge mess, I might take pictures of that instead. So check back, it might be beautiful, it might catastrophic!

0 Responses to “Spaghetti Faces and Real Simple”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Creating unique fashion from fortunate thrift store discoveries. And otherwise making our house a home, on the cheap.

RSS My Etsy

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

IMG_20110720_163332

option one

option two

More Photos

a


