Elise Pokes Cute Pickling Peppers

Canning is something I have yet to accomplish. Rob wants me to get one of those fancy canning sets, I’m reluctant. It seems like something I should be able to do the old old-fashioned way. But so far, no good.

Our garden has produced an over-abundance of hot Hungarian Wax Peppers and I tried to pickle them for pizza toppings. The seal on the jar was no good, so I gave them to my Mother-in-Law with the explicit instructions to eat them after they have marinated for 2 weeks, and please oh please keep them in the fridge. I don’t want to kill my husband’s famiy with a pizza.

Elise really liked the peppers. She said they were, “cute,” which is what she calls everything she likes right now. Daily the girls have this conversation:

Elise: Whiv. Cute.

Olivia: My name is not “woof,” Elise, and I’m not cute I’m beautiful.

Elise: Beautiful?

Olivia: Yes, I’m beautiful. You’re cute because you’re a baby.

Elise: Whiv. Cute.

Olivia: I’M NOT CUTE!!!!

2 Responses to “Elise Pokes Cute Pickling Peppers”


  1. 1 Kimmie July 24, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    Oh, I wish I could give you some great canning wisdom, but alas I am a canning failure. Well, it didn’t help that my mom gave me a container of pectin that was like 10 years old and wouldn’t set in the jam…sigh. I can related to your not wanting to kill anyone, that is definitely sweet 😉

    Kids are so cute, too bad we can’t can them and perserve those little sweet moments in time when they say such cute things. Yeah, I think canning them is a bad idea…well, at least until I get a better turn out !

    Your Hungarian peppers look great, my dad was Hungarian and we have a daughter adopted from there too!

    Kimmie
    mama to 6
    one homemada and 5 adopted

  2. 2 devona July 24, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    I guess in a way these blog posts are an attempt to can our kids, huh? Unless the WWW goes belly-up I’ll have the most in depth baby book around combining this blog and our family blog:

    http://loveandblunder.com


Leave a Reply

Creating unique fashion from fortunate thrift store discoveries. And otherwise making our house a home, on the cheap.

RSS My Etsy

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

IMG_20110720_163332

option one

option two

More Photos

a


