The Raggy Flat Dolls

I have recently acquired new cabinets in my sewing room and thus have been bombarded with the shaggy ends of all the beautiful fabric that I can’t bring myself to throw away. Shirt sleeves mingling with strips of designer quilting cotton. Heaps of what some might call “a mess.”

The answer was waiting for me in this book, Fabric Leftovers, which has insipred me to make these little dolls for the girls. Not just for the girls, but with the girls. Both kids picked out the pattern fabric, and helped me sew it up on the machine. That really made for immediate bonding with their new toys. They have started coming with us every where we go.

Olivia’s doll is “Panther,” who almost ate Pa in Little House on the Prairie. This Panther has turned nice now, and protects us from mean wolves in the night. Phew.

Elise’s doll is “Doggy.” Doggy is pretty straight forward. She eats, barks, climbs on things and occasionally pretends to be a bear.

If I get two three minutes I will make some more. I’m thinking bunnies, frogs… alligators maybe?

0 Responses to “The Raggy Flat Dolls”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Creating unique fashion from fortunate thrift store discoveries. And otherwise making our house a home, on the cheap.

RSS My Etsy

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

a


