Tuber-Time

Most things in the garden have come to their fruitful end. No more carrots, no more broccoli, very very few green beans (which I could hardly keep up with!) and the tomatoes are spending their time turning red. There are a few Romaine lettuces out there, but they are all burned from the heat and not very yummy looking. Olivia and I have been spending afternoons taking things out of the the ground and turning the soil preparing it for next spring.

The big experiment of the summer was the sprouting potato that I decided last minute to cut into pieces and plant. I had no idea what would come of it since I’d never grown potatoes before and I didn’t use “seed potatoes” just an old kitchen potato. I figured worst case scenario it would pollute that little plot of dirt (5 square feet) and we’d have to dig it out and replace it.

Well, best case senario was what actually happened. I had to keep mulching the plot of potatoes as they grew because they were sticking out of the ground, but besides that they were definitely a plant-and-wait crop. So easy. I’m going to make a huge potato patch next year. So easy, so cheap. And the slugs make neat little dug-out shapes on them. That could either be gross or cool. I’m choosing to see it as cool.

0 Responses to “Tuber-Time”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Creating unique fashion from fortunate thrift store discoveries. And otherwise making our house a home, on the cheap.

RSS My Etsy

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

a


