Knitting- That thing I never finish

One of the reasons I’m a crafter as opposed to a heirloom style seamstress (though I’d love to someday be both) is my limited attention span. This shortfall also manages to prohibit me from making any great strides as a knitter. Even though I am able to do most of the knitting things I’d like to do, I lack the basic skills of seeing a project through to the end and end up with 8 inches of beautiful and intricate knitting on needles stuffed into my closet.

Apart from hats and wool diaper covers I have not finished anything that I’ve cast on. That’s pretty pathetic.

But I’m pregnant now (hurray!) and so I have this urge to make baby things, and in my mind baby things are delicate wool knits. I’m hoping that switching to bamboo needles and knitting something more interesting that a huge rectangle (sweater front/ baby blanket) will help me reach the finish line. I’ve gotten better at perserverance post-marathon (talk about a long project! They say the 26.2 is the short part, and they’re right!) and I’m ready to cast on.

I’m knitting an adorable hooded sleeper that will hopefully come out right since I’ve had to change a few small pattern aspects to fit the yarn that I wanted to use. It’s an alpaca/sheep-wool blend in navy heather and sky blue stripes.

Wish me luck. I hope I don’t end up with half of a front and then give up. Or worse! What if I knit it all up and then when I go to finish it I find that the front and back don’t match up?! See, this is why I never knit.

4 Responses to “Knitting- That thing I never finish”


  1. 1 Renee March 1, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    congrats on the pregnancy. what a great time in life. hope you are enjoying it and feeling well. good luck on the sleeper. it looks so sweet. can’t wait to see some pics of it. take care.

  2. 2 andreadurfee March 1, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    Good luck…and congratulations!!

  3. 3 Mary Beth March 3, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    Congratulations again on the pregnancy and good luck on the knitting projects. I’m jealous…I would love to have unfinished projects in my closet. That would mean I know how to knit…which I dont and really should learn how!

  4. 4 atangledyarn September 12, 2010 at 6:34 pm

    what an adorable sleeper!! congratulations on your upcoming joy, and good luck with finishing the sleeper! 🙂 i have a very cute (and free) pattern for a baby kimono if you are interested. it is knit in one piece and just looks sooo adorable!


Leave a Reply

Creating unique fashion from fortunate thrift store discoveries. And otherwise making our house a home, on the cheap.

RSS My Etsy

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

a


