Someone cool

Every once in a while I get that feeling that I am a little un-cool. Maybe more than a little. Usually it is when I see someone very cool, doing something that I wish I had done.

dsc_0024

Maybe this year’s New Years Resolution should be to be cooler. I’ve succeeded in acomplishing my New Year’s Resolutions for the two previous years. This might be my chance to get cooler if I can keep up the momentum. Step one: have my clothes/accessories/slings shown again, not in a Hardware store. Though Lehman’s was truly fun, and Sue is really cool (genuinely), if I want to be a Mini-Martha I have to keep showing my stuff and networking.

dsc_0049

Step two: have cooler hair. I think I need to keep coloring it red. I like having red hair.

Step three: So, what’s with the pictures of my kids in this post about how bad I want to be cool? These are unchosen pics from my annual Christmas card that I design. I usually use photoshop, but I know that I really need to be using InDesign. Step three is to learn to use InDesign so that I can make a monthly, or bi-weekly webzine. Things that end in “zine” are cool and if I did one that would up my cool factor by at least 30 degrees. Plus, I just like to post pictures of my awesome kids. I think that having cool kids makes me a little cooler, so I’ll post pictures of them on my blog and ride the wave of their popularity.

5 Responses to “Someone cool”


  1. 1 Jeannette December 8, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    This is cracking me up a little, because I’ve been feeling so UNcool! lately. It’s kind of nice to know that I’m not the only one that feels that way…

  2. 2 devona December 8, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    Sorry Jeannette, but the fact that you live in the house you live in makes you cool. You can’t join my pity-party. 🙂

    And you lived in NO once, that’s default cool-maker. Does that make you feel a little cooler? If not we can just go get radical haircuts and facial piercings. That’s option number 4, in case the first 3 don’t work out.

  3. 3 devona's mom December 9, 2008 at 1:01 am

    As I was reading this, I found myself thinking that I wish I had been as cool as you are when I was your age, a stay-at-home mom with 2 little girls. I think that while we are in the moment, the stuff that we just do everyday seems very mundane and average. But I look at the things you are doing–the marathons, your etsy store, your dedication to raising your children the way you do–a lot of people would think “What a cool Mom.”

    As for the red hair…..I like it. I’ve been a redhead for years.

  4. 4 devona December 9, 2008 at 2:04 am

    Thanks a lot, Mom. Now I’m decidedly less cool because my mom compliments me on my blog. 😉 I’m just kidding! Actually that’s the second best compliment I received today, a day when I needed complimenting. 🙂

    Olivia’s tops yours though, she told me today as I was trying on the dress and make-up that I’m planning to wear to Rob’s company Christmas party: “Wow! When you get there all the girls will say, ‘have you ever seen anyone so pretty?’ ‘No! We have never seen anyone so pretty!’ When I grow up I’m going to wear your dress so that all the girls will think that I’m the prettiest when I go to Rob’s (yes she called her dad “Rob”) stupid party.” That was the best compliment I think I ever got. It’s even better because she knows that we don’t get dressed up for the men, we dress up for the other girls. She’s so smart.

  5. 5 mollie December 30, 2008 at 2:12 am

    i’m laughing because i’m really not very cool at all. you should be linking to pia jane bijerk….. 🙂


Leave a comment




Creating unique fashion from fortunate thrift store discoveries. And otherwise making our house a home, on the cheap.

RSS My Etsy

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

a